Banana.

Banana, twinkie, I am sure that some of us have heard this before. It isn’t new. In fact, some of us have probably been hearing it for the majority of our lives. For those of you who aren’t familiar, this is what a word they like to call Asians who “act white”. A lot of people like to say it as a joke, and then others like to say it in order to let those people know that they are not a part of the club, and probably never will be.

As for me, I have gotten this a couple of times, and I hate it. This whole idea of how a culture or skin color dictates how one should act is ridiculous to me, and no matter how much I try to express my frustrations to certain people, they just brush it off and tell me to accept my whiteness. Accept being a twinkie.

I can’t help the fact that I was adopted and I can’t help the fact that my parents are white. I also can’t help the fact that my house was the United Nations growing up so my culture is 5 mixed into one hybrid. Banana. Twinkie. Is this really an appropriate name? Is that all I am, a white person in an Asian suit who just happens to appreciate other cultures? If that is the case, then maybe I should make a club for Bananas, Twinkies, Oreos, Uh-oh Oreos and any other foods whose centers don’t resemble their outer appearance. We can call ourselves the Snack Food Aisle club.

This entry was published on April 25, 2012 at 1:44 AM. It’s filed under Adoption, Diary of a Mad Asian Woman and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

